ACADEMIC REGULATIONS

HONORS AND AWARDS

Academic Honors

Each student enrolled in a curriculum program leading toward a degree, a diploma, or a certificate is eligible for the Academic Honors lists. Special credit students are not eligible for Academic Honors.

- **President's List**: students who complete in a semester a minimum of 12 credit hours and earn a 4.0 grade point average.
- Dean's List: students who complete in a semester a minimum of 12 credit hours and earn at least a 3.50 grade average with no grade lower than "C".
- Honors List: students who complete between 6 and 11 credit hours in a semester and earn at least a 3.50 or higher grade point average.

Commencement Awards

Graduating students having a cumulative major GPA of 3.50 or higher are recognized at graduation ceremonies by the notation in the commencement program and by the wearing of gold cords.

- The Annie Ruth Kelley Leadership Award was established by Stanly Community College in 2001. This award is presented to the graduating student who has excelled in providing leadership to fellow students, to the College, and to the community.
- The Edward J. Snyder, Jr., Exceptional Scholars Award was established in 2002. The Exceptional Scholars Award is awarded to students enrolled in a curriculum program who have earned a 3.0 or higher grade point average at the end of the term prior to graduation. The program head and instructors from each curriculum may nominate one student from their curriculum and will write an essay on the topic "Why This Student Should Receive the Edward Snyder Exceptional Scholar Award." The Associate Dean of Records and Registration will notify the nominee of his or her nomination as the Edward Snyder Award recipient. The nominee will be required to submit to the Associate Dean of Records and Registration an essay using the topic "What Makes Me An Edward Snyder Exceptional Scholar Nominee" and will be interviewed by a selection committee. The selection committee will choose the students to receive the Edward Snyder Exceptional Scholar awards. The recipients will be the commencement speakers.
- The George E. Eddins, Jr., Award of Distinction in Allied Health Education was established in 2003. This award honors Dr. George E. Eddins, Jr., as a highly respected Stanly County physician and educator who has dedicated many years of support and service to the community and the College. The Eddins Allied Health Building is named in his honor. The Award of Distinction in Allied Health Education will be presented each year to a student in a two-year allied health program graduating with a 3.5 grade point average and demonstrating community involvement and leadership ability.
- The Dianne H. Burton Community Service Award was established in 2006. This award is granted to a graduating student who has contributed to the community through civic, social service and/or non-profit organizations, volunteer work, church, etc. While on-campus activity may be considered, it is not a criteria to receive this award.